UI/UX Workshop Experience

Photo by Tianyi Ma on Unsplash

UI/UX Workshop Experience

Hi guys. I am Arathi Viju, a student who joined the College of Engineering Chegannur(CEC) with a profound desire to acquire knowledge and broaden my horizon. So while checking messages on WhatsApp I stumbled upon a poster about a UI/UX workshop. Being an ardent design enthusiast, I immediately seized the opportunity and decided to participate.

Day 1

Then the day came, I and my friends went to the classroom. I was pleasantly surprised to find a diverse mix of students in attendance. I saw so many from the second year but few from the first year. The workshop began with our mentor, Harikrishnan Chettan, explaining what design is and the basic concept of designing, etc which we absorbed comprehensively. He elucidated so well. He also gives information about the introduction to Figma. After that, our mentor also supports us by sending the figma-related YouTube links to refer to and to have a basic idea about Figma.

h

So for those who don't know what Figma is

Figma is a collaborative web application for interface design, with additional offline features enabled by desktop applications for macOS and Windows. Figma provides a robust set of features that enable designers to create and share wireframes, visual designs, and interactive prototypes, as well as provide developers with design specs and assets.

Day 2

In the subsequent class, we have access to the computer centre so that even those who don't have a laptop can learn. On that day he taught us about colour combinations and typography. Then he gave us a sample to try. After doing that project we learned a lot of new things and got familiar with the application. It also gives us a good idea of how designers do and what all things are required etc.

Day 3

On day 3 I was not able to attend the class as I am going to my hometown but my friends joined the session and told me that they completed the remaining project in that hour. So when I reached home, I immediately open my laptop and started doing my work. In an hour I completed my work and I was so satisfied.

Design I make from the sample with little changes.

I give big appreciation to the Harikrishnan chettan and crew behind this for making this workshop successful. As a participant, I can assure you that I learned a lot of new things, and it enhanced my skills and confidence in the field of design. In retrospect, I entered the workshop with a limited understanding of design, and I am grateful to have left with a greater understanding and appreciation of the subject matter. To all those who read this if you have any opportunities like this never miss it and give it a shot.